Apple Pay Launches in Portugal and Slovakia

BY Rajesh Pandey

Published 26 Jun 2019

Apple Pay has officially expanded to Kazakhstan

Apple has rolled out Apple Pay in Slovakia and Portugal, with the service expected to go live in Greece anytime now. The company has greatly expanded the footprint of Apple Pay in Europe in recent months to include more countries.

In Slovakia,  Edenred, J&T Banka, Monese, N26, Boon, Revolut, and Tatra Banka will support Apple Pay at launch.

If you live in Slovakia or Portugal, you can set up Apple Pay by opening the Wallet app on your iPhone.

Apple is yet to make an official announcement regarding the launch of Apple Pay in Slovakia, Portugal, and Greece, though it is expected to do so in a few hours from now. Once it does, it will be clear which are the banks that will support Apple Pay at launch in Greece and Portugal.

So far this year, Apple has expanded Apple Pay to the Netherlands, Hungary, Luxembourg, Iceland, and other EU countries. The service is also expected to launch in Croatia, Malta, and other EU countries this year.

Apple Pay will be available to all iPhone 6 and higher users along with Apple Watch owners. It will also be available to owners of MacBook and MacBook Pro featuring Touch ID.

[Via Zive]