Apple offering eight free songs for the Holidays in Apple Store app

BY Gautam Prabhu

Published 4 Dec 2013


Few months back, Apple started offering free content in the Apple Store app.

Apple seems to have rolled out an over-the-air update for the Apple Store app to offer eight free songs to “keep humming throughout the holidays.”

The holiday playlist includes the following songs:

  • Ave Maria, by II Vollo
  • Children Go Where I Send Thee, by Nick Lowe
  • Duck the Halls, by the Robertsons
  • Joy of the World, by Celtic Woman
  • Silent Night, by Kelly Clarkson
  • The Christmas Song (Chestnuts Roasting on an Open Fire), by Kool and the Gang
  • The First Noel, by Mary J Blige
  • What Child is This, by Marvin Sapp

To download the free songs, follow these simple steps:

Note: It looks like the free songs are currently available only for U.S. users, and is not available on the Apple Store app for iPad.

  • Launch the Apple Store app (download it using this link if you haven’t installed it).
  • Scroll down and tap on the “Holiday Cheer” option.
  • Then tap on the green “Download now for free” button.
  • You will be prompted with a message informing you that “You are now leaving the Apple Store app and your download will begin automatically”.
  • Tap on the Continue button, which will launch the iTunes app and take you the Redeem page, with the redeem code auto-populated.
  • Tap on the Redeem button, it will prompt you to enter your Apple ID password, enter it. You will be told you’ve successfully redeem your code and iOS will automatically download the songs.

That’s it. The offer is valid until December 31st. Let me know how it goes, and if you are able to download the free songs.

Hat tip: 9to5Mac